The Major Arcana

The Major Arcana

In tarot, The Major Arcana refers to the first twenty-two “trump” cards. The other fifty-eight, which come in four suits (Cups, Wands, Swords and Pentacles – that’s where regular playing cards evolved from), are known as the Minor Arcana. I very rarely use Minor Arcana cards in my readings, because I never really connected with them. So like most French tarot readers, I tend to stick to Major Arcana, which you probably noticed if you ever had a tarot consultation with me or have checked out my Cards of the Week posts. Below are the twenty-two Major Arcana cards. Click on an individual card, you will be able to view its detailed interpretation, as well as astrological associations, references in popular culture, and more. The information on each page is excerpted from my book You Hold the Cards, which I strongly suggest you get a copy of if you’d like to learn everything you need to learn tarot and make it into a regular spiritual practice!

The Fool

The MagicianThe Popess ♣ The Empress ♥ The Emperor ♦ The Pope

The LoversThe Chariot ♣ JusticeThe HermitThe Wheel of Fortune

Strength ♠ The Hanged Man ♣ DeathTemperanceThe Devil

The Tower

The StarThe MoonThe Sun


The World